CanWEA unveils annual award nominees

March 2, 2017

Wind industry leaders, innovators, supporters recognized for
outstanding contributions

Ottawa, Ontario, March 2, 2017 – The Canadian Wind Energy Association (CanWEA) is proud to announce the companies and individuals selected as nominees for the 2017 CanWEA Awards, which honour wind industry leaders, innovators and supporters for their exceptional work on behalf of Canada’s wind energy industry.

The 2017 CanWEA Awards nominees are:

R.J. Templin Award

  • Pan-Canadian Wind Integration Study Team – GE Energy Consulting
  • Philippe Coulombe-Pontbriand – Renewable Energy Systems Canada Inc.
  • Tom Lambert – AWS Truepower, LLC

Matt Holder Community Connection Award

  • Adam Rosso – Boralex Inc.
  • Kruger Energy Inc.

Individual Leadership Award

  • Dan Balaban – Greengate Power Corporation
  • Jimmy Royer – Natural Resources Canada
  • William Sutherland – Manulife Financial

Group Leadership Award

  • Alliance éolienne de l’Est
  • Créneau d’excellence en éolien Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine
  • Government of Alberta

Wind Energy Project Award

  • Bull Creek Wind Facility – BluEarth Renewables Inc.
  • Niagara Region Wind Farm – Partnership of Boralex Inc., ENERCON Canada Inc., and Six Nations of the Grand River Development Corporation
  • Rivière-du-Moulin Wind Farm – EDF EN Canada

The winner of the Friend of Wind Award will be announced at the CanWEA Awards Dinner.


“This year’s award nominees exemplify the incredible talent and passion that has made wind energy one of the most exciting and fastest-growing parts of Canada’s energy sector. This is our way of showing our appreciation and support to colleagues who have worked so hard to the benefit of us all, and we’re looking forward to celebrating with them at our awards dinner in April.”

– Robert Hornung, President, CanWEA


  • The CanWEA Awards Dinner will be held April 4 in conjunction with the annual CanWEA Spring Forum 2017.
  • The Awards Dinner sponsors include Brookfield, GE Renewable Energy, Kruger Energy, Pattern Development, Sussex Strategy Group, Senvion, and Women in Renewable Energy (WiRE). The official media partner is North American Windpower.
  • WiRE’s Wind Power Woman of Distinction Award will also be presented at the CanWEA Awards Dinner.
  • The winners of CanWEA’s Power of Wind bursary contest were announced last fall. Post-secondary students from across Canada were incited to share their vision of a renewable energy future, with the 13 top entries featured in CanWEA’s 2017 Friends of Wind Calendar.
  • Since the CanWEA Awards were established in 1985, more than 50 advocates, individuals and companies from across Canada have been recognized as wind energy leaders and innovators.
  • The media is welcome to attend the Spring Forum and Awards Dinner. Please send an email to to register, and collect your accreditation at the registration desk upon arrival.




About the Canadian Wind Energy Association

CanWEA is the voice of Canada’s wind energy industry, actively promoting the responsible and sustainable growth of wind energy. A national non-profit association, CanWEA serves as Canada’s leading source of credible information about wind energy and its social, economic and environmental benefits. Join us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and LinkedIn. Learn more at

For more information or for interview opportunities, please contact:

Lejla Latifovic, Senior Communications Advisor
Canadian Wind Energy Association
613-234-8716 x 241 or 1-800-922-6932 x 241


Photo caption: Queen’s University student Diana Lawryshyn won first place in CanWEA’s 2016 Power of Wind bursary contest with her vision of a clean, green and healthy wind energy future.