CANWEA Award Winners

2015 Award Winners

Every year, the Canadian wind energy industry celebrates visionary leaders and clean energy pioneers during its Annual Conference and Exhibition. This year, CanWEA presented awards that recognize organizations and individuals who have made significant contributions to the Canadian wind energy industry. Our 2015 award winners are:

R.J. Templin Award: First awarded in 1985, the R.J. Templin Award recognizes an individual or organization that has undertaken scientific, technical, engineering or policy research and development work that has produced results that have served to significantly advance the wind energy industry in Canada.

Awarded to: Loren Knopper, Senior Associate & Senior Risk Assessor, Stantec and Chris Ollson, Vice President, Strategic Development, Intrinsik Environmental Sciences.

Drs. Loren Knopper and Chris Ollson are recognized experts in the field of wind turbine sound and human health, and together have publish six important studies, including the widely Health Effects and Wind Turbines: A Review of the Literature, published in Environmental Health.

Group Leadership Award: First awarded in 2001, the CanWEA Group Leadership Award recognizes a government, corporation or non-profit organization that has contributed significantly to the advancement of wind energy in Canada.

Awarded to: The Municipality of the District of Guysborough in Nova Scotia

The Municipality of the District of Guysborough, located in the northeast corner of Nova Scotia, was an early participant in the province’s highly successful community renewable energy program, first installing five small wind turbines and later partnering with Nova Scotia Power to develop a 13.8 MW wind farm named Sable Wind. It is the first municipality in Nova Scotia to invest in, build and own a major wind power project.

Individual Leadership Award: First awarded in 2003, the CanWEA Individual Leadership Award is presented to an individual working for a CanWEA Member in the wind energy industry who has, through their efforts and body of work over time, contributed significantly to the advancement of wind energy in Canada.

Awarded to: Peter Clibbon, Senior Vice President, Development at Renewable Energy Systems Canada Inc:

Peter Clibbon, a pioneer in Canada’s wind industry with 15 years of experience, is responsible for his company’s development activities in Canada. He leads a multi-disciplinary team that has developed projects across the country, and is playing a leadership role in the continued modernization of Ontario’s electricity system. RES installed the province’s first grid-connected battery system and plans to use cutting-edge smart-grid technology to shape the electricity consumption profile of commercial energy users.

Friend of Wind Award: First awarded in 2009, the CanWEA Friend of Wind award is presented to individuals or groups in recognition of outstanding voluntary contributions to advancing awareness of the benefits of wind energy at the community level in Canada.

Awarded to: Sandra de Jong

Sandra de Jong is an active and vocal pro-wind community member in a municipality that has demonstrated strong anti-wind sentiment. Sandra is passionate about environmental issues and about her community, and brings that passion to the wind energy conversation. She has appeared before Ontario’s Environmental Review Tribunal, has been a willing supporter of wind power in local media, and continues to be a champion for those who are proud to be part of renewable energy development.

Matt Holder Community Connection Award: First awarded in 2012, the Matt Holder Community Connection Award recognizes an individual working for a CanWEA member who embodies responsible, sustainable development through a commitment to understanding a Canadian community and forming meaningful community relationships built on mutual respect and trust.

Awarded to: Frits de Kiewit, Director, Development, Invenergy Wind Canada LLC

Frits de Kiewit, who heads business development in Quebec and the Atlantic provinces for Invenergy, has more than 35 years of experience in the energy sector. Through proactive communication and a sincere effort to work closely with the communities that host Invenergy projects, Frits has been able to create long-lasting relationships of trust and mutual respect.

Wind Energy Project Award: Awarded for the first time in 2013, this award highlights the exceptional commitment to responsible and sustainable development through initial development, community engagement, permitting, and construction.

Awarded to: Blackspring Ridge Wind Project, EDF En Canada and Enbridge Inc.

The 300 MW Blackspring Ridge Wind Project, located in Alberta’s Vulcan County, is the largest wind facility in western Canada and one of the biggest in the country. The project owners were able to build strong local and landowner support for the project through a series of initiatives designed to foster communication with all stakeholders, and was nominated for the award by Kym Nichols, mayor of the Village of Carmangay.