CanWEA Awards

Each year the Canadian Wind Energy Association (CanWEA) recognizes visionary leaders and clean energy pioneers for their outstanding contribution to the Canadian wind industry.  On April 4, 2017 the awards will be presented at the CanWEA Awards Dinner which will take place at the Hilton Lac-Leamy Hotel in Gatineau, Quebec. This evening of entertainment and celebration will bring together dynamic and powerful stakeholders in the Canadian wind industry providing an excellent opportunity to entertain clients, network with peers and brand your company as an industry leader.

The first CanWEA award was presented in 1985 and over the past thirty years has grown from one to six award categories including:

R.J. Templin Award: The R.J. Templin Award recognizes an individual or organization that has undertaken scientific, technical, engineering or policy research and development work that has produced results that have served to significantly advance the wind energy industry in Canada.

Friend of Wind Award: The Friend of Wind award is presented to individuals or groups in recognition of outstanding voluntary contributions to advancing awareness of the benefits of wind energy at the community level in Canada.

Matt Holder Community Connection Award:  The Matt Holder Community Connection Award recognizes a CanWEA Member organization or an individual working for a CanWEA Member who embodies responsible, sustainable development through a commitment to understanding a Canadian community and forming meaningful community relationships built on mutual respect and trust.

Individual Leadership Award: The Individual Leadership Award is presented to an individual who has, through their efforts and body of work over time, contributed significantly to the advancement of wind energy in Canada.

Group Leadership Award: The Group Leadership Award recognizes a government, corporation or non-profit organization that has contributed significantly to the advancement of wind energy in Canada.

Wind Energy Project Award: The Wind Energy Project Award highlights the exceptional commitment to responsible and sustainable development through initial development, community engagement, permitting, and construction.

The 2017 CanWEA Awards finalists are:

R.J. Templin Award

  • Pan-Canadian Wind Integration Study Team – GE Energy Consulting
  • Philippe Coulombe-Pontbriand – Renewable Energy Systems Canada Inc.
  • Tom Lambert – AWS Truepower, LLC

Matt Holder Community Connection Award

  • Adam Rosso – Boralex Inc.
  • Kruger Énergie Inc.

Individual Leadership Award

  • Dan Balaban – Greengate Power Corporation
  • Jimmy Royer – Natural Resources Canada
  • William Sutherland – Manulife Financial

Group Leadership Award

  • Alliance éolienne de l’Est
  • Wind Energy Cluster Gaspésie – Îles-de-la-Madeleine
  • Government of Alberta

Wind Energy Project Award

  • Bull Creek Wind Facility – BluEarth Renewables Inc.
  • Niagara Region Wind Farm – Partnership of Boralex Inc., ENERCON Canada Inc., and Six Nations of the Grand River Development Corporation
  • Rivière-du-Moulin Wind Farm – EDF EN Canada

The winner of the Friend of Wind Award will be announced at the CanWEA Awards Dinner.

For more information about 2015 CanWEA award winners, visit: Canadian Wind Energy Association announces annual award winners

For any questions, email

Power of Wind Bursary Awards

Every year, CanWEA awards bursary prizes to students entering or in post-secondary education. In 2016, students were invited to share their vision of how wind energy can contribute to Canada’s future by submitting a photo or visual image that illustrates, expresses or in some way conveys that vision.

CanWEA is pleased to announce 2016 Power of Wind contest winners are:


First place: Diana Lawryshyn, Queen’s University


Second place: Renee Stokowski, University of Manitoba


Third place: Taylor Morrison, University of Toronto

Winning submissions and honourable mentions are featured in CanWEA’s 2017 Friends of Wind calendar.


Women in Renewable Energy Award

WiRE’s Wind Power Woman of Distinction Award will be presented at the CanWEA Awards Dinner.

WiRE Women of Distinction Awards recognize and celebrate professional women working in the energy sector who go above and beyond business-as-usual, consistently demonstrate outstanding leadership, and have contributed significantly to the expansion and improvement of the power sector.

2015 Wind Power Woman of Distinction Winner:


Terry Kwas, Manager, Environment, Health & Safety – Wind, TransAlta